Fear of A Black Planet (2CD)

Fear of A Black Planet (2CD) cover
$29.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Public Enemy
Fear of A Black Planet (2CD)

[ Def Jam / 2 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 12 December 2014

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

Fear Of A Black Planet is the third studio album by Public Enemy, originally released on March 20, 1990, by Def Jam Recordings. It was produced by the group's production team The Bomb Squad, who sought to expand on the dense, sample-layered sound of Public Enemy's previous album, It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back (1988). Their songwriting was partly inspired by the controversy with member Professor Griff and his dismissal from the group in 1989.

The album features elaborate sound collages that incorporate varying rhythms, numerous samples, media sound bites, and eccentric music loops, and reflect the content's confrontational tone. Conceived during the golden age of hip hop, its assemblage of reconfigured and recontextualised aural sources preceded the sample clearance system that later emerged in the music industry.

This deluxe edition is part of a yearlong, ongoing celebration marking the 30th anniversary of the iconic Def Jam record label founded in 1984 by Rick Rubin & Russell Simmons.

Deluxe editions includes the original album on disc one and the second disc consists of commercially released 12", CD singles & remixes.


Disc 1

1. Contract On The World Love Jam (Instrumental)
2. Brothers Gonna Work It Out
3. 911 Is A Joke
4. Incident At 66.6 FM (Instrumental)
5. Welcome To The Terrordome
6. Meet The G That Killed Me
7. Pollywanacraka
8. Anti-Nigger Machine
9. Burn Hollywood Burn
10. Power To The People
11. Who Stole The Soul?
12. Fear Of A Black Planet
13. Revolutionary Generation
14. Can't Do Nuttin' For Ya, Man!
15. Reggie Jax
16. Leave This Off Your Fu*Kin Charts (Instrumental)
17. B Side Wins Again
18. War At 33 1/3
19. Final Count Of The Collision Between Us And The Damned (Instrumental)
20. Fight The Power

Disc 2

1. Brothers Gonna Work It Out (Remix)
2. Brothers Gonna Work It Out (Dub)
3. Flavor Flav
4. Terrorbeat
5. Welcome To The Terrordome (Terrormental)
6. Can't Do Nuttin' For Ya Man (Full Rub Mix)
7. Can't Do Nuttin' For Ya Man (U.K. 12" Powermix)
8. Can't Do Nuttin' For Ya Man (Dub Mixx)
9. Burn Hollywood Burn (Extended Censored Fried To The Radio Version)
10. Anti-Nigger Machine (Uncensored Extended)
11. 911 Is A Joke (Instrumental)
12. Power To The People (Instrumental)
13. Revolutionary Generation (Instrumental)
14. War At 33 1/3 (Instrumental)
15. Fight The Power (Do The Right Thing/Soundtrack Version)
16. Fight The Power (Powersax)
17. Fight The Power (Flavor Flav Meets Spike Lee)
18. The Enemy Assault Vehicle Mixx