Think Of Spring (Limited Edition LP)

Think Of Spring (Limited Edition LP) cover
$45.00 In stock with supplier
ETA: 2-5 business days
add to cart more by this artist

M. Ward
Think Of Spring (Limited Edition LP)

[ Anti- / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 11 December 2020

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 2 - 5 business days from when you order it.

M. Ward's Think of Spring is a collection of songs originally recorded by Billie Holiday.

Ward achieved the intimate sound of this record by filtering the original songs and strings through a single acoustic guitar, using various alternate tunings and a minimal amount of textures and studio manipulation. Most of the songs were recorded on an analogue Tascam four track. The title Think of Spring comes from a poem written in 1924 by Jane Brown-Thompson that eventually became "I Get Along Without You Very Well" in 1938 - the first song on the record. Proceeds from Think of Spring will benefit Inner-City Arts & DonorsChoose via PLUS1 for Black Lives Fund.

"I first heard [Billie's album] Lady In Satin in a mega-shopping mall somewhere in San Francisco," M. Ward explained. "I was about 20 years old and didn't know much about Billie's records or her life or how her voice changed over the years. Anyway, the sound was coming from the other side of the mall and I remember mistaking her voice for a beautiful perfectly distorted electric guitar - some other-world thing floating there on this strange mournful ocean of strings and I was hooked for life."

Available on limited translucent orange coloured vinyl.


A1. I Get Along Without You Very Well
A2. For Heavens Sake
A3. It's Easy To Remember
A4. You've Changed
A5. Violets For Your Furs
B1. For All We Know
B2. But Beautiful
B3. All The Way
B4. I'm A Fool To Want You
B5. I'll Be Around
B6. You Don't Know What Love Is