The Territory

The Territory cover $25.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

The Eastern
The Territory

[ Rough Peel Records / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 31 October 2014

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 5 business days.

The Territory is the fourth album in six years from Christchurch based Lyttelton raised string band The Eastern. It was recorded, as were the previous three with courage, friendship and grace by the kind hearted, quick handed, coopers cupping, and baby making Ben Edwards at his Sitting Room Studio on Hawkhurst St. in Port Lyttelton New Zealand.

It carries on its tender shoulders fifteen songs wrestling with such unhip topics as place, marginalised voices, localised metaphors, justice, peace, hope, truth, friendship, family and myth.

It has bagpipes, banjos, fiddle and as much acoustic fury (fury of both the quiet and loud kind) crammable into a bunch of folk songs, yet the electrics keen and the drums kick along and the bass rumbles and the trombone takes the air and pushes through just enough to keep the set interesting.

The Eastern are lifers in this folk singing business, they make the rent playing music and spend most days of the year getting reading for soundcheck, packing down the speakers and coiling the leads.

With over 1000 shows played over god knows how many miles they have proudly garnered a reputation as one of New Zealands hardest working bands. A reputation they carry with pride. They have shared stages with Steve Earle, Old Crow Medicine Show, and even Fleetwood Mac.


1. The Territory
2. The Road to Erewhon
3. The Stepping Razor
4. Celtic Jack and Temuka Tom
5. Rain
6. Murder Ballad
7. People Like Us
8. Rosy
9. Talking Americana Cowboy
Yeeha Blues
10. Broken Line
11. (Blue and the Old Fella Sing)
The Ballad of a Little While
12. Come Dance With Me
13. The Angle
14. What It Is
15. The Prayer