II cover
$28.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Khun Narin

[ Innovative Leisure / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 6 May 2016

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

The journey began with a Youtube video and a headline that read 'MINDBLOWING PSYCHEDELIA FROM THAILAND' that crossed the continents and spread through the internet with great hype via Dangerous Minds (blog).

Hailing from a remote village just outside the city of Lom Sak in the valley of mountains on the border between North and Northeast Thailand, Khun Narin's Electric Phin Band have since released a self-titled debut in 2014, with Los Angeles-based producer Josh Marcy, who originally made the trip from the United States to record their captivating sound.

The music they play is called 'phin prayuk' - the first word referring to a 3-stringed lute known as 'the phin', which forms the basis of their sound - overlaid with numberous Boss effects pedals, to achieve the infamous sound.

II is a fresh return, introducing some new phin players, as well as members of the original troop, capturing the band's unique and hypnotizing psychedelia sound.


1. Phua Kao
2. Phom Rak Mueang Thai
3. Baisi Sukhwan
4. Sao Kalasin Lam Phloen
5. Chackim
6. Long Wat
7. Thang Jai Thang Jao
8. Sao Ubon Ro Rak

Listen to Phua Kao via Youtube