Benda: Piano Concertos

Benda: Piano Concertos cover
$30.00 In Stock add to cart

Benda: Piano Concertos
Howard Shelley (piano/conductor) / London Mozart Players

[ Hyperion The Classical Piano Concerto Vol 8 / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 1 October 2021

Of the same generation as Mozart's father and Bach's children, Georg Anton Benda was highly regarded in his day (not least by Mozart himself). Howard Shelley brings his customary probing, intelligent musicianship to this selection of four early classical concertos.

'It's almost a commonplace to remark upon Shelley's unstinting advocacy of all‑but-forgotten and sometimes rather inconsequential music. That's to do Benda a disservice, however … where these works really score … is in the slow movements, which have a richness and personality not often associated with the transitional music of the mid-18th century. These thus become the expressive fulcrum of each work; that of the F minor Concerto in particular deploys muted strings and a singing solo line to go to emotional places one might not have expected' (Gramophone)


Piano Concerto in F minor [19'01]
1 Allegro [6'53]
2 Larghetto [7'30]
3 Allegro di molto [4'38]

Piano Concerto in G minor [19'43]
4 Allegro non troppo [7'11]
5 Andante [6'39]
6 Presto [5'53]

Piano Concerto in G major [22'28]
7 Non tanto allegro [8'39]
8 Andante [8'31]
9 Allegretto [5'18]

Piano Concerto in B minor [19'24]
10 Allegro [6'16]
11 Arioso [7'28]
12 Allegro [5'40]