Keep Me In Your Heart For A While: The Best Of Madeleine Peyroux (2CD)

Keep Me In Your Heart For A While: The Best Of Madeleine Peyroux (2CD) cover
$35.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Madeleine Peyroux
Keep Me In Your Heart For A While: The Best Of Madeleine Peyroux (2CD)

[ Concord / 2 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 14 November 2014

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 1 - 2 weeks.

Keep Me in Your Heart for a While: The Best of Madeleine Peyroux is the very first compilation release in the singer/songwriter's 18-year career, including favorites not only from her Rounder catalog, but also tracks from her Atlantic and Decca/Emarcy catalogs. Additionally, the album includes one previously unreleased song-title track and Warren Zevon cover, "Keep Me in Your Heart"-which appeared in 2011's independent film Union Square. Liner notes by former Atlantic Records A&R man, Yves Beauvais, complete the package.

Peyroux, whose voice is often compared to that of Billie Holiday's, was discovered while in her early twenties, when Beauvais spotted her at a New York club. He recalls the precocious singer's set to be "some of the most exciting, viscerally moving minutes of my music-listening life." Beauvais signed Peyroux to Atlantic and co-produced her 1996 debut Dreamland. Peyroux's husky voice enchanted audiences and critics alike, but it was 2004's Careless Love -a wide-ranging collection of covers from Elliott Smith to Leonard Cohen-penned tracks-that proved to be a milestone release for the artist, fetching mainstream recognition and marking the start of a four-album-long collaboration with producer Larry Klein (Joni Mitchell, Tracy Chapman, Herbie Hancock).

The American-born Peyroux, whose career began as a teen busker on the streets of Paris, is a regularly touring, active artist, who has often returned to her love of busking between albums.


Disc 1
1. Don't Wait Too Long
2. You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
3. (Getting Some) Fun Out Of Life
4. Between The Bars
5. I'm All Right
6. La Vie En Rose
7. Half The Perfect World
8. Dance Me To The End Of Love
9. Smile
10. Once In A While
11. The Summer Wind
12. Careless Love
13. Guilty
14. Desperadoes Under The Eaves

Disc 2
1. Changing All Those Changes
2. J'Ai Deux Amours
3. River Of Tears
4. The Things I've Seen Today
5. Damn The Circumstances
6. La Javanaise
7. The Kind You Can't Afford
8. Bye Bye Love
9. Walkin' After Midnight
10. Standing On The Rooftop
11. Instead
12. Keep Me In Your Heart
13. This Is Heaven To Me